Background Image

Tackling Cheaters Before The Game Goes Live

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Khadgar, Sep 25, 2014.

1. Aeachus Khadgar Recruit

Hi guys,

Just a few concerns I'd like to raise with the dev team.

I'm not a programmer and I don't know how to script. However, I come from a background of Counterstrike, which has a big problem with cheaters. Every time the game goes on sale, there's a new wave of cheaters with aimbots/wallhacks/teleport hacks, among other cheats [like ESP and speedhacks]. It's a big problem, and makes matchmaking a pain in the ass. You go to play a game for fun and one guy on the enemy team instagibs you through a wall, prefires every location where you are, and makes outrageous bunnyhop headshots. It's a problem, and the enjoyability of the game goes from kind of fun to not very fun at all.

From what I've heard most of these problems stem from the fact that some properties of the game depend on the client's side, some things on the server side. CS:GO messed up big time by making things like hitboxes/player location depend on the client side of things, so with modified .dll files it is possible to teleport and aimbot. According to people who know better than I, most of the cheats in CS:GO would not be possible if this distinction had been more thoroughly considered during the development phase.

So I ask you, please cobble the cheaters before they can ruin people's games. Valve has an incredibly clunky anti-cheat system, and while the community can help to forward particular cases, on the whole the cheaters remain in the game for up to - and sometimes more - than a month after they are first detected. The plus side is that there are hardly any false positives, but there again, sometimes games are filled with cheaters, and the number of cheaters doesn't die down till a while after. It took a month for the latest influx of CS:GO cheaters to get hit by the banwave, but games are still littered with them.