Background Image

PvE Lair - A beginner's guide

Discussion in 'PVE Discussion' started by GraveSpectre, Dec 1, 2016.

1. I'm no expert but I can tell you the basics.
    And seeing as no guide is up already...
    I thought I might at least try and share some handy advice.
    And hopefully encourage more people of more factions to play PvE

Why should you play PvE? Well every complete run on normal gives at least 4-5k XP/RP and 12-17 AP.
    For half an hour or less of your time... I find this pays off much better than the 1-2k XP/RP and 3-5 AP earned in a PvP match.
    Especially cos a failed 5 minute run in PvE nets me exactly the same rewards as a PvP match. So... 20 minutes PvP = 5 minutes PvE...
    I know what I'd rather play.

To begin. You want ideally 4-5 people. Eldar and Orks have difficulty with less than 4 people.
    You NEVER want to play with less than 3 people. You can't comp right.
    Now for a comp guide.
    Ideally you want 1-2 Heavy weapons. Not typically more than.
    And a medic.
    Aside from that it's open enough. But at your core three man team you need 1 medic and 1 heavy at least.

Playing Melee....
    You want to be careful here. Don't stray too far from the group.
    And watch your squad's positions and placements. It's generally gonna be your fault if you got in the way of your squads plasma cannon.
    Enjoy being dead. That being said. Plasma cannons... the perfect teamkiller. You want to place shots carefully using these.

Medics..
    Stay with your group and for the love of all the shinies.
    DON'T Loadout for melee. Equip some ranged and only provide supporting fire.
    Your main job is to keep the team alive. Not to kill things. That is secondary.
    If you are a warlock or sorc then you should have your heal up constantly.
    And pick out who your vanguard is and protect them. or rather support them.

Basic awareness. Use pings, keep an eye on points and timers and generally good stuff like that.