Background Image

Alternative Bits and Models

Discussion in 'Table Top' started by Ratchetsnatch, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. Hey everyone! I play orks, and one of the things I love about that army is the huge degree of flexibility when it comes to conversions and customization of the ork models. Unfortunately, I think the current GW models for orks are terribly lacking in the diversity this faction needs, so I scoured the internet for third-party bits and model manufacturers. I have found two companies in Poland that make resin bits that outmatch GW products in quality, flavor, price, and customer service. These are www.spellcrow.com and www.kromlech.eu (bits of war). I was wondering, have any of you out there found any other third-party suppliers that are worth checking out? Here are a few examples of models from those two companies:

    Spellcrow (they mainly specialize in bits, but they have a few complete models for sale):

    [​IMG]

    Bits of War:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Fhauzn likes this.
  2. Ratchetsnatch likes this.
  3. Ratchetsnatch likes this.
  4. Thats nice. I´ve an Tempestus Prime but not finish yet. Dont like the vehicle tracks, it is like a fish out of water for an fast attack vehicle, so i wanna replace the tracks to wheels.
  5. Thanks for the DakkaDakka link! Here's a post by Kroothawk that has many more companies:

    Here is an extensive list of non-GW miniature manufacturers, listed alphabetically in the categories Fantasy, SciFi and Historical/Pulp. More important companies (my choice) are written in bold letters.

    Good websites to stay informed are:
    Tabletop Gaming News: http://www.tabletopgamingnews.com/
    the Miniatures page: http://theminiaturespage.com/
    and the blog Tabletop Fix: http://ttfix.blogspot.com/

    Stores with a good selection of non-GW miniatures are.
    Battlefield Berlin (Germany): http://www.shop.battlefield-berlin.de/
    Cool Mini or Not (USA): http://www.coolminiornot.com/shop/miniatures
    Noble Knight http://www.nobleknight.com/ (also OOP stuff)
    The Warstore (USA): http://www.thewarstore.com/
    Maelstrom Games (UK): http://www.maelstromgames.co.uk/
    Arcane Miniatures(UK): http://www.arcaneminiatures.co.uk/
    Northstar Figures (UK) http://www.northstarfigures.com/
    to name just a few.

    See also this thread for manufacturers of bases. http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/353268.page .


    Fantasy

    Alkemy Miniatureshttp://www.kraken-editions.com/en/alkemy/presentation/index.html (independent skirmish game)
    Ammon Miniatures http://ammon-miniatures.com/?page_id=19&lang=en (very few, mostly comical)
    Andrea Miniatures http://www.andrea-miniatures.com/market/AspsProductos/listado.asp?IdColeccion=127 (also renown for 54mm scale Fantasy and other big scale miniatures)
    Anima Tactics http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm=16&esem=2 (Manga style skirmish game, also RPG)
    Avatars of Warhttp://www.avatars-of-war.com/eng/web/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3&Itemid=56 (excellent heroes close to GW style, also first plastic regiment)
    Banelegionshttp://banelegions.maelstromgames.co.uk/ (heroes and monsters close to GW style)
    Battlefield Babes http://www.shop.battlefield-berlin.de/index.php/katalog/showarticles/20220-1-battlefield_babes.html (small line of heroines)
    Black Scorpion Miniatures http://www.blackscorpionminiatures.com/index.php (mostly Pirates and Ork BB team)
    Black Tree Design http://www.blacktreedesign.com/home.html (classic fantasy miniatures)
    Blue Moon Manufacturing http://www.bluemoonmanufacturing.com/ (80s style Fantasy, Horror and Pirates)
    Bronze Age Miniatures http://www.bronzeagemin.com/miniatures_html/32MM/FANTASY/fantasy32mm.htm (classic fantasy miniatures)
    Cavalcade Wargames http://cavalcadewargames.com/cavalcade/store.html (Japanese Miniatures: Orks, Goblins, Dwarfs, Minotaurs)
    Chronopia http://www.princeaugust.ie/target_games/ (selling stock of old tabletop game with alternative design)
    Clan Wars http://www.veltd.net/28mmclanwar.htm (Japanese miniatures from the L5R setting)
    Confrontation (currently OOP major tabletop game, early metal and later plastic prepainted edition, search ebay)
    Cool Mini or Not http://www.coolminiornot.com/shop/miniatures/cmon-miniatures (high quality singles, for painters, often limited)
    Crocodile games https://www.crocodilegames.com/store/index.cfm (Wargods of Aegyptus/Olympus/Hyperborea)
    Cryptlock Miniatures http://www.cryptlock.de/start.htm (small range)
    Custom Made Miniatures http://www.custommademinis.com/en/shop/fantasy/ (small range of heroes)
    Dark Sword Miniatures http://darkswordminiatures.com/ (large collection of realscale Fantasy Miniatures, often copying Fantasy art, also deformed range)
    Denizen Miniatures http://www.denizenminiatures.co.uk/files/25mm02.htm (classic 25mm range)
    Dragonblood Miniatures http://cavalcadewargames.com/cavalcade/Dragonblood.html (e.g. Lizardmen, now distibuted by Cavalcade)
    DragonRune Miniatures http://armorcast.com/store/index.php?cPath=116_125 (Orks, Ogres, Lizardmen etc.)
    Dungeons & Dragons (OOP range of prepainted plastics for RPGs, see ebay)
    Dwarf Tales http://shop.dwarftales.com/ (small high quality Fantasy range)
    Enigma Miniatures http://www.enigmaminiatures.com/en/news.html (30mm and 54mm high quality miniatures)
    Excalibur Miniatures http://www.excalibur-miniatures.com/shop/index.php?cPath=4 (classic fantasy range)
    Fenryll http://www.fenryll.com/index.php (large collection of resin 30mm heroes and terrain, also deformed range)
    Freebooter Miniatures http://www.freebooterminiatures.de/en/catalog (nice collection of singles, now also Pirates skirmish game)
    Gamezone Miniatureshttp://gamezoneminiatures.de/?___store=gamezone_english&___from_store=gamezone_german (major alternative range to Warhammer, all metal)
    Gaspez Arts http://www.gaspez-arts.com/ (small range of singles, some BB teams)
    Grendel http://www.scotiagrendel.com/Products/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=2 (old style miniatures, monsters and terrain)
    Gribbly Miniatures http://www.gribblyminiatures.co.uk/gallery.php (few chaos monsters)
    Ginfritter's Gnomish Workshop http://armorcast.com/store/index.php?cPath=116_74 (few, mostly comical miniatures)
    Guild of Harmony http://www.guildofharmony.com/shop_GOH_pg1.php (small range of high quality singles)
    Hasslefree Miniatures http://www.hasslefreeminiatures.co.uk/catalog.php (medium sized fantasy range, also conversion parts)
    Hazgaard Miniatures http://www.shop.battlefield-berlin....showarticles/24120-1-hazgaard_miniatures.html (Japanese singles from Okko game, OOP?)
    Helldoradohttp://www.helldorado.fr/figurines/index.php (independent skirmish game)
    Heresy Miniatures http://www.heresyminiatures.com/index.htm (medium sized fantasy range, a.o. daemons)
    Hordeshttp://privateerpress.com/hordes/gallery (major tabletop game, see also similar Warmachine by same company)
    Impact Miniatures http://www.impactminiatures.com/ (major range of alternative BB miniatures with own rules system)
    Iron Kingdoms http://privateerpress.com/iron-kingdoms/miniatures (RPG singles from Hordes/Warmachine setting)
    Mad Puppet Miniatures http://www.madpuppetminiatures.com/main.php (few singles)
    Magnificent Egos http://www.coolminiornot.com/shop/miniatures/valiant-miniatures (RPG singles, distributed now by Valiant Miniatures)
    Mantic Gameshttp://www.manticgames.com/Shop-Home.html (major cheaper alternative to Warhammer, own set of rules by A.Calvatore)
    Maow Miniatures http://www.maow-miniatures.fr/figurines.htm (few limited release singles plus some comicals)
    Masquerade Miniatures http://www.masq-mini.com/index.php?sprache=2 (small range, wolves, bats)
    Mega Miniatures http://www.megaminis.com/ (cheap bulk metals)
    Micro Art Studio http://www.shop.microartstudio.com/discworld-miniatures-c-48.html (Diskworld singles, few others)
    Minos Miniatures http://www.minos-miniatures.com/unpainted-miniatures.html (few singles)
    Mirliton Miniatures http://www.mirliton.it/index.php?cName=fantasy-2528mm (classic Grenadier miniatures)
    M.S.B. Toys http://www.msbtoys.com/MSBShop/ (medium sized range with own aesthetics)
    Neomics http://www.neomics.de/shop (alternative BB miniatures)
    Otherworld Miniatures http://www.otherworld.me.uk/store.html (medium sized range of singles for RPG, including Giants)
    RAFM http://www.rafm.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=RAF&Category_Code=RFM (old fantasy miniature range)
    Raging Heroes http://www.ragingheroes.com/collections/complete-collection (few collectors miniatures)
    Ral Partha http://www.ralparthaeurope.co.uk/ (classic 25mm fantasy range)
    Reaper Miniatureshttp://www.reapermini.com/ (biggest collection of usable singles, also have skirmish game)
    Red Box Games http://red-box-games.com/shop/index.php (characterful dwarfs, men, elves, orks, goblins)
    Resina Planet http://www.resinaplanet.com/catalogo.php?view=thumbnailList&category=6 (several high quality singles)
    Scibor Monstrous Miniatureshttp://www.sciborminiatures.com/ (characterful dwarfs, evil dwarfs, Orcs, Goblins, Minotaurs)
    Shadowforge http://www.shadowforge.com.au/ (babe characters and armies)
    Silent Spectre http://www.silentspectre.com./fantministore.htm (few fantasy singles)
    Soda Pop Miniatures http://web.sodapopminiatures.com/selectcharacter?product=SDE ("deformed" range)
    Studio McVey http://studiomcvey.highwire.com/ (few high quality limited releases, mostly for painters)
    Tales of War http://www.taleofwar.com/shop/ (high quality singles mostly for painters)
    Titan Wargames http://www.titanwargames.com/shop (evil dwarfs)
    Troll Forged http://trollforged.com/index_cat_fantasy.html (sculptor collective)
    Ultraforge http://www.ultraforgeminiatures.com/ (nice demons, giants, dragons and treeman, OOP?)
    Uncharted Sea http://www.spartangames.co.uk/uncharted.htm (Man o'War alternative, fantasy sea battles)
    Urban mammoth Warheads http://www.urbanmammoth.co.uk/acatalog/Warheads.html ("deformed" range)
    Victoria Miniatures http://www.victorialamb.com/store.html (few singles, incl. Monty Python Spanish Inquisition)
    WarCrow http://www.corvusbelli.com/en/02_tiendawar.asp (characterful singles)
    Wargames Factory http://www.wargamesfactory.com/ (starting with plastic sets: Orcs and Amazons)
    Wargames Foundry http://wargamesfoundry.com/ (lots of old style miniatures)
    Warmachinehttp://privateerpress.com/warmachine/gallery (major tabletop game, see also similar Hordes by same company)
    Westwind Productions http://www.westwindproductions.co.uk/catalog/index.php?infoBox=3&cPath=1 (alternative Dwarf, Viking and Ork armies, also Gothic and Japan)
    Willy Miniatures http://willy-miniatures.blogspot.com/ (BB alternatives)
    Wyrd Miniatureshttp://wyrd-games.net/shop/ (small characterful skirmish game)
    Zenith Miniatures http://www.zenitminiatures.com/shop/ (small characterful skirmish game)

    Two Fantasy Football shops:
    http://www.comixininos.com/index.php/
    http://www.ffstore.it/


    SciFi

    Antenociti's Workshop http://www.antenocitisworkshop.com/sci-fi/sci-fi-figures.html (modern SciFi miniatures)
    AT-43 (major SciFi tabletop now OOP, prepainted plastic, search ebay)
    Bronze Age Miniatures http://www.bronzeagemin.com/miniatures_html/32MM/SCI-FI/sci-fi28mm.htm (post-apocalyptic)
    Chapterhouse Studios http://chapterhousestudios.com/webshop/home (40k compatible conversion kits)
    Copplestone Castings http://www.copplestonecastings.co.uk/range.php?range=FW (Post Doomsday civilians and military)
    Dark Age Games http://www.dark-age.com/main.php (dark SciFi skirmish game)
    Denizen Miniatures http://www.denizenminiatures.co.uk/files/25mm01.htm (classic 25mm)
    Eden http://www.taban-miniatures.com/ (post-apocalyptic skirmish game)
    Excalibur Miniatures http://www.excalibur-miniatures.com/shop/index.php?cPath=6 (SciFi range)
    Firestorm Armada http://www.spartangames.co.uk/firestorm_armada.htm (BFG alternative)
    Ground Zero Games http://shop.groundzerogames.net/ (classic 25mm SciFi, Stargrunt rule set)
    Hasslefree Miniatureshttp://www.hasslefreeminiatures.co.uk/catalog.php (SciFi dwarfs, civilians, personalities, conversion parts)
    Heresy Miniatures http://www.heresyminiatures.com/index.htm (Civilians, gunmen)
    Infinityhttp://www.corvusbelli.com/en/02_tiendainf.asp (popular SciFi skirmish)
    Judge Dredd http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/miniature/series.php?qsSeries=65
    Kabuki Models http://www.kabukimodels.com/index.php (High quality singles mostly for painters)
    Knight Models http://www.knightmodels.com/30mm_hansolo_visor_ing.html (Star Wars heroes)
    Kromlech http://stores.ebay.com/Kromlech-Bits-and-Minis?_trksid=p4340.l2563 (conversion parts)
    Lead Adventure http://www.lead-adventure.com/ (post apocalyptic plus steampunk)
    Mad Puppet Miniatures http://www.madpuppetminiatures.com/main.php (few post-apocalyptic singles)
    Maxmini http://www.maxmini.eu/store/index.php (conversion parts)
    Mercs Miniatures http://store.mercsminis.com/collections/mercs-miniatures (modern SciFi)
    Micro Art Studio http://www.shop.microartstudio.com/ (AdMech, conversion bits)
    Mr. Dandy http://www.mrdandy.com/wargamma/ (thunderwolves and Alien drop pod)
    Mythicast http://mythicast.com/?page_id=4#ecwid:category=0&entryPage=Y&mode=category&offset=0&sort=normal (Space Wolf alternatives)
    Olleys Armies http://www.olleysarmies.co.uk/home.html#galleries (SciFi Dwarfs, you know what I mean [​IMG])
    Pig Iron Productionshttp://www.pig-iron-productions.com/ (extensive guard miniatures, many heads for conversions)
    Ramshackle Games http://shop.ramshacklegames.co.uk/ (post-apocalyptic gangs and vehicles)
    Scibor Monstrous Miniatureshttp://www.sciborminiatures.com/ (alternative "Space Marines"[​IMG]
    Shadowforge http://www.shadowforge.com.au/ (female guard)
    Silent Spectre http://www.silentspectre.com./scifiministore.htm (few SciFi singles)
    Soda Pop Miniatures https://store.sodapopminiatures.com/ (manga babes)
    Studio McVey http://studiomcvey.highwire.com/ (modern SciFi)
    Troll Forged http://trollforged.com/index_cat_sci-fi.html (sculptor collective)
    Urban Mammothhttp://www.urbanmammoth.com/acatalog/ (extensive SciFi miniature range with rules)
    Victoria Miniatures http://www.victorialamb.com/store.html (Highland Guard conversion kit)
    Wargames Factory http://www.wargamesfactory.com/ (plastic DKoK)
    Warzone http://www.princeaugust.ie/target_games/ (selling stock of old OOP tabletop with alternative design)


    Historical/Pulp

    Armaments in Miniature http://www.angelfire.com/nj4/armamentsinminiature/ourproductlines.htm (planes and landing crafts for FoW)
    Artizan Design http://www.artizandesigns.com/ (pulp and historical)
    The Assault Group http://www.theassaultgroup.co.uk/store/home.php (historic and modern)
    Black Scorpion Miniatures http://www.blackscorpionminiatures.com/index.php (Iraq wars and Western)
    Black Tree Design http://www.blacktreedesign.com/home.html (Dr. Who miniatures)
    Blue Moon Manufacturing http://www.bluemoonmanufacturing.com/index.php?cat_id=24 (Pulp, Pulp SciFi)
    Brigade games http://www.brigadegames.com/ (pulp and historical, incl vehicles)
    Bronze Age Miniatures http://www.bronzeagemin.com/miniatures_html/32MM/historical/historical28mm.htm (pirates, gladiators, Greek)
    Brushfire http://store.on-the-lamb.com/ (Napoleonic animals)
    Conquest Miniatures http://www.conquestminiatures.com/improbablearmies.htm (Indians and Pygmy zombies)
    Copplestone Castings http://www.copplestonecastings.co.uk/ (extensive Pulp range)
    Crusader Miniatures http://www.crusaderminiatures.com/ (historical)
    Darkson Designs http://www.shop.battlefield-berlin.de/?&content=katalog&action=showarticles&group=42120&page=1& (Pulp WW2, original website shows no products, so here a shop)
    Dixon Miniatures http://www.dixon-minis.com/index.php (gangsters, historical)
    Dystopian Warshttp://www.spartangames.co.uk/dystopian_wars_home.html (steampunk battle in Epic scale, mostly ships)
    Dust Tacticshttp://www.dust-models.com/products.php (pulp WW2 tabletop)
    Empress Miniatures http://www.empressminiatures.com/index.htm (historical, esp. Zulu War -> Praetorians)
    Essex Miniatures http://www.essexminiatures.co.uk/ (Many historical ranges)
    Eureka Miniatures http://eurekamin.com.au/index.php?cPath=87_126 (28mm historical and pulp)
    Flames of Warhttp://www.flamesofwar.com/ (popular 15mm WW2 tabletop)
    Forged in Battle http://www.forgedinbattle.com/ (alternative models to Flames of War)
    Frontrank http://www.frontrank.com/index.asp (historical)
    Great War Miniatures http://greatwarminiatures.tripod.com/ (WW1 28mm)
    Gripping Beast http://www.grippingbeast.com/shop.php (historical)
    Hydra Miniatures http://shop.hydraminiatures.com/ (Pulp SciFi, Pulp prehistorical)
    Ironclad Miniatures http://www.ironcladminiatures.co.uk/shop/category_40/Victorian-Sci-Fi.html?shop_param=cid=& (Victorian SciFi, with vehicles)
    Irregular Miniatures http://www.irregularminiatures.co.uk/ (Many historical ranges)
    Micro Art Studio http://www.shop.microartstudio.com/discworld-miniatures-c-48.html (few Wolsung steampunk singles)
    Minifigs http://www.miniaturefigurines.co.uk/Home.aspx (Many historical ranges)
    Mirliton Miniatures http://www.mirliton.it/index.php?cName=historical-2528mm (historical)
    Musketeer Miniatures http://www.musketeer-miniatures.com/ (historical)
    Old Glory Miniatures http://www.oldgloryminiatures.com/ (classic 25mm historical and Pulp SciFi)
    Perry Miniatures http://www.perry-miniatures.com/index2.html (historical, some in plastic)
    Pulp City http://www.pulp-city.com/ (super heroes)
    Pulp Figures http://www.pulpfigures.com/main.php (erm ... pulp)
    RAFM http://www.rafm.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=RAF&Category_Code=S1889 (Space 1889 miniatures)
    Rattrap Productions http://rattrapproductions.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=4 (pulp and pulp SciFi)
    Reaper Miniatures http://www.reapermini.com/Miniatures/chronoscope/ (Pulp heroes)
    Strange Aeons Miniatures http://unclemikesworldwide.com/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=1 (Cthulhu skirmish game)
    Studio Miniatures http://www.studiominiatures.com/ (Zombies, incl WW2 Zombies)
    Tobsen 77 http://tobsen77.de/index.php?lan=en (pulp and pulp SciFi vehicles)
    Victrix Ltd http://www.victrixlimited.com/ (plastic Napoleonic 28mm)
    Waffenkammer http://www.diewaffenkammer.com/ (WW2)
    Wargames Foundry http://wargamesfoundry.com/ (lots of old style historical miniatures)
    Warlord games http://www.warlordgames.co.uk/ (historical incl. WW2, some in plastic)
    Westwind Productions http://www.westwindproductions.co.uk/catalog/index.php (Pulp WW2: Incursion, Secrets of the Third Reich)

Share This Page